Hello everyone…

Welcome to After an Interval, hosted by your recent graduate of St. Mary’s College of Maryland (SMCM), Andrew Llewellyn. The purpose of this blog is to talk about my experiences in music and arts administration. My specific background is in the performing arts, mainly music (being a trombonist), so I will try to stick writing about these things.

It was only until college where I began to study the trombone more seriously. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve been an active musician all my life. I’ve been playing the trombone since 4th grade, and in High School I was very active in the music department, playing in the All County Bands and Orchestras, Jazz Bands, and yes, even the dreaded marching band for you orchestral players. I think it was during my senior year where I was in the band room coming in from a marching band competition thinking about what to do with my life, as the typical high school senior does. Since all of my time was spent playing music or doing homework I thought, “well hey, I enjoy music and dealing with people, there has to be a mix of that right?” I didn’t have any genre in mind, just music and business.

Once I arrived at St. Mary’s, I begin taking lessons with Bryan Bourne, the Principle Trombonist for “The Presidents Marine Band.” Gezz how much more lucky could I have gotten? Over the past four years I have learned so much from him both musically and professionally. He was one of the reasons I ended up going to St. Mary’s.

Throughout the four years at St. Mary’s I did a lot with music…I might as well have majored in it. From working and playing with the Chesapeake Orchestra in the summers-a fully professional union orchestra, to multiple performing opportunities during the school year, I had a perfect combo of my econ classes, leadership experience, and music to build my arts admin background. So, having graduated from St. Mary’s this past May with a B.A. in Economics and a minor in Music performance, I’ve decided that performing arts administration is an important path to continue in which, luckily has landed me a job in the music department at SMCM.

So, now I’m trying to understand how everything I’ve been doing and reading about fits into a practical context. I hope to accomplish at least a bit of my discoveries in this blog!

 

Arts administrator with experience in concert production, event planning, website development, and grant writing. He has a Bachelor of Arts in Economics and a trombone performance minor from St. Mary’s College of Maryland. He continues to study trombone with Bryan Bourne, former principal trombonist of “The President’s Own Marine Band,” and perform with the Chesapeake Orchestra in Leonardtown, MD. He is an Honorary Member of the Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia Fraternity of America and is passionate about reading, international travel, and a great cup of coffee.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Uncategorized
3 comments on “Hello everyone…
  1. Mary says:

    Looking forward to hearing more about your experiences.

  2. James says:

    who’s your favorite jazz trombonist? JJ Johnson or Curtis Fuller?

    • afllewellyn says:

      Tough question! J.J. Johnson was the first trombonist I listened to when I started playing. He got me into jazz and was an extremely influential musician for bebop, not to mention his technical skills are out of this world. Curtis Fuller is also a great improvisor and balad player known for his lush high range and vibrato. Still, I’d have to say Im going to stick with J.J.. I have followed him more closely.

      Wycliff Gordon is also a favorite. His use of the plunger mute is incredible!

Leave a Reply

Andrew Llewellyn

Andrew Llewellyn

Arts administrator with experience in concert production, event planning, website development, and grant writing. He has a Bachelor of Arts in Economics and a trombone performance minor from St. Mary’s College of Maryland. He continues to study trombone with Bryan Bourne, former principal trombonist of “The President’s Own Marine Band,” and perform with the Chesapeake Orchestra in Leonardtown, MD. He is an Honorary Member of the Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia Fraternity of America and is passionate about reading, international travel, and a great cup of coffee.

Personal Links

Verified Services

View Full Profile →

