Motivation

As I was reading some articles online this morning, I began to find myself reflecting back on the summer and fall semester of this year. One thing that I may of lost track of this year is the realization that everyone in my team may not have the same passion as I do.

Aside from my personal goals in my position, I would think that for each concert we produce during the year, interns should want to gain the professional experiences and learn how to produce different types of concerts in an efficient and minimal stress way, at the same time getting the chance to work with some amazing artists. Unfortunately, at times it was like pulling teeth.

Therefore, as we go into the next year, I have some things in mind that I hope to remind myself of as the concerts start tallying on the schedule. I plan to:

  1. Get together as a group and talk over what the season will look like and talk about expectations people have of each other and even of myself.
  2. Develop a sense of ownership. I want the concert managers to have the sense that this is their concert they are creating, so make all aspects that you are able to control professional. Your name is on it.
  3. Develop a sense of purpose. This may be the most important. I think when there is a common purpose for the whole team (ex. maybe you signed onto this job because you want to produce concerts and develop behind the scenes experience) you will make things happen because you are excited about what you are able to do. It is the reason you come to work with a team of people (not to mention also a reason why people are philanthropic).

So, what’s your purpose? Are you driven? Are you hungry?

Arts administrator with experience in concert production, event planning, website development, and grant writing. He has a Bachelor of Arts in Economics and a trombone performance minor from St. Mary’s College of Maryland. He continues to study trombone with Bryan Bourne, former principal trombonist of “The President’s Own Marine Band,” and perform with the Chesapeake Orchestra in Leonardtown, MD. He is an Honorary Member of the Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia Fraternity of America and is passionate about reading, international travel, and a great cup of coffee.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “Motivation
  1. Anonymous says:

    Perhaps some of your “team” are not trying to get those experiences as an intern – I would guess that most of them do the job because they just want a little extra money and know that someone has to pitch in to facilitate concerts. They may not share your dreams of arts administration. At least those same members of your “team” care enough to offer to work concerts at all… there are certainly other jobs available.

  2. afllewellyn says:

    Thank you for your comment. This post was not ment at all to talk down to anyone I work/have worked with. I greatly appreciate all of the effort interns have put in because in the end our department had an extremely successful year. All that was ment to be said was that there are some things I realize I could work on, and some goals that I, and maybe other readers could ponder over when working in a team to attempt to try to reach a same goal. Further, I agree there are other jobs out there and that not everyone shares the same wants that I have. This is totally fine and is welcomed! Nobody has to have the same ideals for arts admin., and in the end this is what makes the atmosphere more creative.

Leave a Reply

Andrew Llewellyn

Andrew Llewellyn

Arts administrator with experience in concert production, event planning, website development, and grant writing. He has a Bachelor of Arts in Economics and a trombone performance minor from St. Mary’s College of Maryland. He continues to study trombone with Bryan Bourne, former principal trombonist of “The President’s Own Marine Band,” and perform with the Chesapeake Orchestra in Leonardtown, MD. He is an Honorary Member of the Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia Fraternity of America and is passionate about reading, international travel, and a great cup of coffee.

Personal Links

Verified Services

View Full Profile →

